The Waves Crash

IMG_5671

What do you do when the waves crash? I have been tested lately in my attitude of the heart when the waves of life crash. Do I get angry? Do I accept it? Do I move on? Do I rejoice? What do I do when the waves crash? I can tell you that the past week or two my hearts attitude has been not of the most positive that it could be. I get irritated easily. I get angry when others around me make ignorant comments, yet I hardly ever verbalize it. I keep questioning God’s reasoning for having us here. I keep questioning everything. I just want to be angry, and sometimes I even feel like I have the right to harbor bitterness. Yet, none of those are truly Biblical.

I haven’t gone to the Father lately and poured out my heart. I need to repent for my attitude. Yes, there is a difference between righteous anger and non-righteous anger. God really has been showing me the difference the past few months. Yet, am I listening? Do I take the lessons He is trying to teach me, and embrace them so that I can be closer to the mold HE wants me to be? No, I haven’t lately. I have taken offense with God. I have been simmering anger toward Him. Which yes, that also means another repentance moment for me.

I think in our Christian culture it is so easy to just brush off un-Godly attitudes, and not repent of them. I mean who wants to do that? Who wants to feel weak and vulnerable. That my friends is why we have His grace. He gave His grace to us when He went upon the cross for us. We owe it to Him to open our hearts with Him, and repent of various things in our lives. God already knows what is going on in our hearts, yet He forgives us. Which is why grace is so amazing. It has already been given to us, we just need to receive it. My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. 2 Corinthians 12:9

So what am I going to do when the waves crash? I am going to hold onto the anchor that is of the Lord and not let go. We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where our forerunner, Jesus, has entered on our behalf, Hebrews 6:19-20.  If I let go I allow Satan to win, which is exactly what He wants. My friends, don’t let Satan win. He wants to devour you. Yet, we serve a God who is much more powerful than him.

Don’t let Satan have power over you. Hold onto the anchor which is of Christ.

4 comments

  1. Hi Rebecca, I just wanted to say I totally connect to this post. I am going through the very same phase and I’m starting to realise more and more how His grace operates especially during my errors. Yes, I too think repentance is very essential; we are always quick to ignore it, which is quite dangerous as it moulds us to be better children of Christ.

    Love the feel of your blog and its contents. Love your dog too! God bless you!

    Like

    • Soumya, thank you for the encouraging words. I think you hit the nail right on the head when you said that you are starting to realize more how His grace operates, especially in our failures. This has been as season like that for me as well. I am so glad that you like my blog. I will be praying that you can also give yourself grace! Thank you, my dog is adorable. God Bless you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

