Right Now

1-timothy-6-6-8

In society it seems to become harder to be content with what we have. The culture my family currently lives in is extremely materialistic. I had never seen a Land Rover before until we moved to our current location. It seems on every block there is a BMW, Mercedes, Range Rover, Cadillac, or Jaguar dealership. What a different culture than anywhere I have lived before! I do feel blessed to be able to have moved multiple times in different areas around the United States. It really makes me appreciate the culture I was raised in, and Lord willing, the culture I want my kids in! (Only 2 more weeks, until we meet our little one!)

 

 

For me personally, it makes it extremely hard to walk in contentedness and live by it. Lately I have been struggling quite a bit with finding being content with the life that I have been privileged with. I seem to be worrying about things that are never going to happen, that are out of my control, that do not pertain to right now. It becomes so easy for me to get caught up in what others have, and comparing myself to others. Yet at the end of the day whose approval do I really need? Do I need the approval of those that I pass by as an acquaintance? Do I need approval of friends? Do I need approval of certain individuals? My husband may not approve everything I do, which is okay, we just need to communicate about it to be on the same page, right? Totally. IF I want my life to glorify Christ (which I d0) I need His approval as well; through His word, prayer, and the sharpening of others.

 

As my due date has gotten closer, I have slowed down some, and am not working. Which is extremely hard for me. When I have too much time on my hands I think about things that aren’t relevant, will never happen, or stew on things that are not of Christ (and most certainly not healthy to be stewing over). Maybe for myself staying busy is a mask that hides what I really feel and think. That thought has crossed my mind more than a few times to be honest. Instead of finding fulfillment in keeping busy, I need to be fulfilled in Christ.

 

How does one go about that fellow readers?  I came across this blog post by Focus on The Family. Although it is mainly about being financially content, I think the meat of the point trying to be made, in the article can be applied across the board in our lives. I just need to keep giving it to Jesus. No matter how many times I have to do it. No matter what circumstance. Even if I have gone to Jesus hundreds of times with the same issue, He still is there, never wavering or faltering. His grace is there upon my asking (or not asking, if you are stubborn like me). The cross was enough for you and for me. For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God;  not as a result of works, so that no one may boast. Ephesians 2:8-9

 

Readers, how do you feel with discontentment? I would love to hear your thoughts and words of wisdom!

 

 

From my family to yours,

 

Rebecca

 

 

Leave a Reply

