Contentment

This momma is sitting here hoping her beautiful baby girl would drift away to sleep during nap time, as I write this post. As of this moment, she seems to have calmed down. I do not hear her, but that doesn’t mean she’s asleep (she is a sneaky cutie pie).

20160726_183812

How do we become content with what we have? How do we stop worrying about this life and things that are of the world? How do we ponder when things don’t go our way? Are we content when God says no? Are we content when God says yes? Do our actions reflect that? Does our heart reflect that? Those are some big questions my fellow readers that I have been thinking/reflecting on lately.

 

Every evening before bedtime my daughter and I read the Bible together. (“Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6″) One of my favorite scriptures we have read is Matthew 6:25-27, I have it below if you are curious about it. 

It is so hard in our American culture to not be content. Every day a new gadget seems to arise from the midst. Whether that be: smart phones, microwaves, clothes, computers, ect. So how do we find contentment?

For myself I have found the following helpful. First off, we need to give every piece of ourselves over to the Lord. I know, it is easier said than done! Second, we need to take our wants to the Lord. Third, I just need to quit with the worrying  (it’s seriously a huge sin I feel that I have to conquer multiple times a day).

So my question is simple readers.

How do you find contentment? I am curious. Please comment!


Blessings from my family to yours,

Rebecca♡

4 comments

  1. That really is a deep question. For our family, we tend to see things that we have as a blessing. I know that we could have much less. We’ve been to places were they eat a spoon full of rice for a meal. Clothing isn’t always worn because what they own is in shreds. Running water is for rich people, but in those places is seems, smiles are always free and welcome. Laughter and joy comes from within, not by what they have or don’t have. I praise the Lord all the time for our camping season. It has taught me so much, not only about myself, but also about my faith and trust in the Lord. I trust I will never go hungry. I trust that God will always met my need, not my want, but my need! I trust that I will never be homeless. My home may not be filled with all the latest and greatest, but it is filled with love, peace, and joy. Those things matter more than anything. My home is also filled with laughter, jokes, Biblical discussions, and family game nights. We all really love the Lord and try our very best to just live for HIM!! Love you girl. I’m enjoying your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ThanK you for the comment! It is so easy to forget how well we have it, how blessed we really are. It’s a great reminder to thank God for everything we have, even if we don’t agree with it. Thank you for your post!! I enjoy reading your comments!

      Like

  2. I begin each day being thankful for life, and all my blessings (too many to name), for my family, my material blessings too. Spending time in the word and prayer too. If I have a complaint, guess who I take it too, then I am much less likely to complain around others, at work, play, church or wherever I am.
    Being thankful, expressing it to the LORD, even when I have no feeling of thankfulness.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I couldn’t agree more with your comment, Tim. I know for myself when I bring things to the Lord first, I tend to have better results emotionally, than trying to do it on my own! Thanks for your response.
      Blessings,
      Rebecca

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

