Simplicity of Life

 

 

Yesterday afternoon, my husband was mowing our grass outside. So I brought our daughter outside to play in the sun, even if it was so windy you couldn’t see one block in front of you on the highway. After a bit of time, Little Miss was tired of playing in the grass, and wanted to go play in our driveway that is all rock. She as of right now absolutely adores picking rocks, organizing them, and handing them to you (like she has in her own little world won the jackpot).

 

While she was picking rocks out yesterday and handing them to me I thought, “You know there are so much more exciting things (in my world) that I could be doing right now.” Like what you ask? At that moment in time it could have been a number of things. In this moment do those things matter? The simple answer is: NOPE! They sure don’t. At the end of the day our basic needs are met, which a lot of the population of the world outside our little glass view where ever we live don’t have their basic needs met.

 

rocks at beach
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

 

Does it really matter that my daughter wanted to spend an hour handing me in her eyes, what were the prettiest rocks? As I was getting frustrated that she didn’t want to do anything else. The Holy Spirit whispered into my heart, “Does it really matter what she wants to do? Is the world going to fall apart if you spend some of your day picking out the prettiest rocks? Are you willing to rob her of precious time that neither of you will get back, just because it isn’t exciting to you?” It was rather humbling to really think about and acknowledge that at the root of it, it didn’t matter. It still doesn’t. We have food, water, shelter, and I know I need to rejoice and thank Him more for it. Don’t well all at times?

I will give thanks to the Lord with all my heart;
I will tell of all Your wonders.
I will be glad and exult in You;
I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.

Psalm 9:1-2

 

It may be the simple life, but it is the best life. I don’t want to miss moments just because my heart and flesh want to be pulled into an opposite direction of what He wants.

 

From my heart to yours,

 

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

