A Deep Breathe

Take a deep breathe, friend. Why? My guess is you probably need it, just like I do. We all do. We live in a fast paced world. We are told to better ourselves means to have a: better job, house, car, appliances, accessories, clothes, ect. Do we really NEED them? If I had to bet money on it, no we don’t. Moving to Alaska is slowly breaking down the thought of the other 49 states, that more is better. More may be better socially, but is it going to do any of us any good when our children only remember us working?

I go on social media and it is starting to becoming shocking at the wants vs. needs down South (well, okay everything is south of us, haha!) I see moms wanting to stay home with their babies, then they turn around and buy them new outfits. Or go out to coffee. Or do this and that. I guess, when you no longer have those options it really puts it into perspective, right? I mean, who wants to turn down a coffee date, right? I know growing up in Oregon (the coffee capital of the country, minus Seattle) I would totally say yes! I enjoy nothing more than a steamy warm cup of coffee on a cold rainy day. Shoot, in a few months change that to -40 degrees and six feet of snow. Oh well.dt_160310_coffee_cup_800x600

My point is, do we take moments in our life to just stop and smell the roses? Do things really matter? I have yet to see a mom here on their cell phone in any capacity while at the park with their kids. Or used as a something to keep them occupied. It is interesting the difference in parenting here. Parents seem more present with their kids. There isn’t selfie snapping (unless your a tourist). Then watch out, they’ll run you off the road with their rented RV’s that they have no clue how to drive!

I guess it is just nice to see parents not relaying on a devise to engage their kiddos. Or taking dozens of photos to share with the world. Seeing parents stopping and taking a breath, and remembering that we only have a short window to pour into our children’s’ souls. We have only one shot at this parenting thing, and I don’t want to miss out because of Facebook, or looking at the latest Instagram post. When I took a year off of social media two years ago; I have to admit it was one of the most freeing feelings.

grace

So for now, I am going to take a deep breathe, and realize parenting is tough work. Yet, His grace is more than sufficient enough for me. When I fail as I parent, which I do, His grace will hold me up. I hope and pray immensely that when my daughter looks at me in 20 years, she can see the love of Christ. I may not be perfect, but through Him, I am whole and together.

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. 10 Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

 

 

 

From my heart to yours,

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

