Epic mom, fail.

Mommas, ever have those days where you just don’t know what happened with your day? Diapers are everywhere. You just cleaned up another blow out from teething, which also means you are cleaning up the floor from poop. Or that screaming toddler who refuses to eat anything but frozen blueberries because “mama owie hot”, which really means, “Mama my mouth hurts.” (Yes, we are going through a phase were EVERYTHING is hot). There are days I wonder if I am a little nutty for wanting another little one. Then I remember the blessing that my daughter is. Even on days when I can’t seem to get past my own feelings, she is still smiling, and full of life. Sometimes it is such a breath of fresh air just to watch her be little. Oh to just sit and listen to her sweet laugh, it really is so contagious.

 

I admit it is a struggle to just sit back and watch her be little, and let her be little. I think moving has helped that tremendously. Life is at a slower pace, kids aren’t necessarily held to such a high standard. Most of the time my little one has dirt somewhere somehow. It used to bother me, I used to feel that she needed to be clean and perfect all of the time. I would say that area for me is slowly starting to slip away, or maybe it has and I haven’t come to recognize it yet. Life here is such so much more simple.

Well, for now I am going to have to put my thoughts on hold, as my little on is waking from her nap. Stay tuned for the continuation!

It almost feels like society puts so much pressure on us to be perfect, in reality NO ONE is perfect (except Christ, right?) We wonder if we are doing this mom thing right. Or if we are good enough examples of Christ’s love and compassion to our children. We wonder if we are showing them truth by our actions and words. We wonder if we are just doing a good job overall. If you ever wonder those things, I truly believe you are doing a great job. Wondering and worrying are two entirely different things though. Casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7 (I know, it can be SO challenging to do it too!)

 

It’s hard to know if we are doing life right, let alone the mom thing right. I mean think about it? We are responsible for another human being. Their shelter, clothing, food, walk with Christ until they are old enough to make to decision themselves. We are to be an example of Christ to our children. Granted, we may not always have it perfect. I know I sure don’t, but we know The One who is perfect and blameless, and that has to count for something!

 

Something I have found is that we need to give ourselves slack, and in those moments we feel overwhelmed pray to the One who gives us strength. I may not have this mom thing perfect, but I do have love and guidance from Jesus Christ himself, and at the end of the day, it is more than enough for me. And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.

So mommas, cut yourself some slack. Show each other grace, compassion, love, and mercy. Enjoy the presence of your children. Spend time with them. Raise them. Love them. Nuture them. Be there for them. Show them the example that we can give them through Christ. I know I am going to do my best, and when my best fails, Christ will fill in those gaps.

20170601_130414.jpg

From my heart to yours,

Rebecca♡

Leave a Reply

